The giantXtour travels throughout Switzerland since 23 years now ...

The giantxtour was born in the Waldensian college of Echallens with, at the time, the pedagogical principle of using several simultaneous school activities. The concept aimed to place students on a very long-term project (12 months). At the time, it had no vocation to be perpetuated. But already 23 years and as many demonstrations have passed since then...

 

The first edition, stamped giant cross, was launched in 1998, on the slopes of the Leysin ski area. The Vaud ski resort welcomed 80 schoolchildren participating in a snowboarding event. Following its initial success, the competition quickly spread to French-speaking Switzerland and then to the Bernese Oberland. The rest of German-speaking Switzerland followed a few years later.

 

The Freestyle Big Air was added to the initial Boardercross in 2003, the Skiercross in 2005 and the Freestyle Slopestyle in 2015.  In addition, since 2013, GXT has enjoyed a partnership with EPFL, adding a third category to the two already existing ones. Today, the event is a spectacle, a must-see event in winter. It sets the pace for the life of the partner resorts and the final, the highlight of the season, always attracts a large audience at the end of March.

  • Facebook - GiantXTour
  • Twitter - GiantXTour
  • Instagram - GiantXTour

©2019 by David Cleres

Der giantXtour reist seit 23 Jahren durch die Schweiz ...

UnseRe

STORY

OUR TEAM

Die giantxtour wurde im Waldenser Kolleg von Echallens geboren, mit dem damaligen pädagogischen Prinzip, mehrere gleichzeitige Schulaktivitäten zu nutzen. Das Konzept zielte darauf ab, die Studenten für ein sehr langfristiges Projekt (12 Monate) zu gewinnen. Damals hatte sie keine Berufung, die es zu verewigen galt. Aber schon seit 23 Jahren und so viele Demonstrationen sind seitdem vergangen......

 

Die erste Ausgabe, das gestempelte giant cross, wurde 1998 an den Hängen des Skigebiets Leysin eingeführt. Das Waadtländer Skigebiet begrüßte 80 Schulkinder, die an einer Snowboardveranstaltung teilnahmen. Nach dem ersten Erfolg breitete sich der Wettbewerb schnell auf die Westschweiz und dann auf das Berner Oberland aus. Wenige Jahre später folgte die übrige deutschsprachige Schweiz.

 

Der Freestyle Big Air wurde 2003 zum ersten Boardercross, 2005 zum Skiercross und 2015 zum Freestyle Slopestyle hinzugefügt.  Darüber hinaus arbeitet GXT seit 2013 mit der EPFL zusammen und ergänzt die beiden bereits bestehenden um eine dritte Kategorie. Heute ist die Veranstaltung ein Spektakel, ein Muss im Winter. Es bestimmt das Tempo für das Leben der Partnerresorts und das Finale, das Highlight der Saison, zieht immer Ende März ein großes Publikum an.

Philippe Wenger Organisation
Sam Troilo
Freestyle Chief
François Vermeulen Organisation 
Emilie Aubry 
Cross Chief
  • Facebook - GiantXTour
  • Twitter - GiantXTour
  • Instagram - GiantXTour
Réservé au staff

©2020 by GiantXTour